You Can’t Go Wrong with a Sing-Along

tor-freeman-kids-on-trumpet-530x342

I’ve learned that if there’s one way to grasp and hold an elementary student’s attention, it’s with a sing-along song.  One of these is always a good supplement for every lesson plan, as it allows you to help the kids burn off steam on busy days and maybe even review or remember something at the same time. I’ve made use of many songs when practicing simple but integral vocabulary topics like:

  • Emotions
    • If You’re Happy and You Know It
    • Five Little Pumpkins
  • Weather
    • Rain, Rain, Go Away
  • Holidays
    • We Wish You a Merry Christmas
    • Trick or Treat, Give Me Something Good to Eat
  • Days of the week/Months/Seasons
    • Days of the Week Song

As I’ve done so I’ve repeatedly run into the same YouTube channel from which I’ve gotten most of my songs: Super Simple Songs. They deliver on their title with a collection of old and new songs, all just a few minutes long with easy lyrics and attractive animations to accompany them. For anyone looking for kids songs on the brink of the internet’s abyss, this is the best place to start.  Here’s a link to great one:

Super Simple Songs: If You’re Happy and You Know It

My favorite song I have encountered so far, however, is this brilliant and addictive musical interpretation of Eric Carle’s The Very Hungry Caterpillar. 

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Song

Leave a comment