Bananagrams

Time: 30-40 mins.

Supplies:

  • Bananagrams game

A game that I first owned simply to challenge my friends with, as a teacher I have come to know the educational value of Bananagrams.  Easily described as Scrabble without a board, it lets the players create their own little collections of words that crisscross and connect in a race against time and the speed of other competitors.

031fdc48-b988-403a-927a-b88c0f16abe7_1.cf85b2e2992af1316d12babd4499313a

I took my fifth grade class out in small groups of about four to try their hand at playing in English.  They loved being able to handle their own tiles and exercise their vocabulary.  It was also a good two way exercise–explaining the rules clearly for me, and listening and understanding for them.

You’d have to invest in the game to use it, but doing so pays off in and out of the classroom!

Our Family of Games – Banagrams

 

 

 

Leave a comment